Photos of podcast host Y. M. Nelson and guest host Tati Richardson with book cover for The Accidental Swipe by Y. M. Nelson on an eReader on a pink and blue background with Nerdy Romantics Podcast logo in the top right corner

Ep.35 The Accidental Swipe Interview

Join podcast creator and romance author Y. M. Nelson, and award-winning romance author and podcaster Tati Richardson as they talk accidental swipes, Fortune & Jason, and their friends as they go from jaded 40-somethings to a couple. ⁣

We talked about my writing journey, the book, and did some rounds of rapid fire questions. Want to know more about The Accidental Swipe and the author behind it? Then this is the episode for you!

Topics We Discuss:

  • Y. M.’s writing journey and the #MyTinderSeries
  • Dating Shenanigans in your almost 40s
  • Body Positivity
  • Favorite scenes and Fancasting the characters
  • Overall impression of the novel
  • Rapid Fire Questions

About the Book and Where to Buy

Accidental Lovers, Book 1​

The Accidental Swipe

For fans of Talia Hibbert and Christina Lauren, a debut romance where low expectations turn into welcome surprises as Jason and Fortune meet online.

Plus-size Fortune Edwards is a boss. Well, everywhere except her love life, in which she’s reduced to stalking her crush Graham at the grocery store he manages.

So, when her best friend suggests she use the body-positive dating app SwipeMatch to find an escort for his charity gala, she reluctantly agrees. When Fortune swipes right on a profile with a group photo that includes Graham and matches, she couldn’t be happier. But the profile belongs to construction manager–and hottie–Jason Reed. Could he be the perfect gala escort? Or is he like every other guy she’s dated–ashamed to be seen with her?

Jason Reed goes through first dates like water, dating an endless string of women since his last failed long-term relationship. How can he manage a team of rowdy construction workers but can’t find the right woman? To stop his “emo” ranting, his friends dare him to find, match, and date a woman off some plus-size dating app. When he finds Fortune, he thinks he’s won the dare and maybe won at love. But she’s hung up on some ball, and he’s thinking long-term. Not to mention, she had a crush on his best friend, Graham. “Operative word ‘had’,” she says. Okay.

If Fortune doesn’t raise her “low expectations” of men, and Jason can’t overcome past hurts and caution, they may lose a chance at a real connection.
Between spicy ramen, arcade games, and bar fights, online dating has never been this complicated. Or this fun.

Published by: One Creative Summer Press
Release Date: July 25, 2023
Pages: 298 (paperback) 258 (kindle)
Paperback ISBN13: 9780998783765
eBook ISBN13: 9780998783758

button with girl reading a print book and the words Print @the Ripped Bodice. Image links to The Accidental Swipe by Y. M. Nelson
Cover of The Accidental Swipe, Accidental Lovers, Book 1 by Y. M. Nelson

Where you can find our Nerdy Romantics Guest Host

About Tati Richardson:

Tati Richardson is co-founder of the Romance in Colour Podcast and debut contemporary romance author of The Build Up. A higher education professional for two decades, Tati holds degrees in English from Clark Atlanta University and University of North Carolina-Greensboro. A native of Atlanta, Tati lives in the suburbs with her husband and daughter. She collects red lipstick, Wonder Woman memorabilia, and unique eyewear. 

Website:www.tatiannarichardson.com

Tati Richardson’s Social media:
Check out the author Tati Richardson. You can found her on instagram @richardwriteson.

Episode Available on
most podcast providers

TuneInApple PodcastsSpotifyGoogle PodcastsAmazon MusicStitcheriHeartRadioPodcast AddictPodchaserPocketCastsDeezerListen NotesPlayer.fmPodcast IndexCastroCastBoxPodfriend

Don’t have a podcast provider?
Listen to this episode here!

Watch the episode on YouTube

Did you like this episode?

Then help us keep this show running by supporting us. You can give a set amount per month or an individual amount. Nerdy Romantic Lead Members get access to premium episodes.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *