Episode 31 NRP Show Notes Banner Her Good Side by Rebekah Weatherspoon

HER GOOD SIDE by Rebekah Weatherspoon

On episode 31, Y. M. Nelson is joined by fellow author Rebekah Weatherspoon to discuss her debut YA romance, Her Good Side. Rebekah shares with Y. M. how she wove her real life into this romantic comedy, the auction to acquire her story, and why Jacob and Bethany are the coolest teenagers you’ll ever meet.

Topics we discuss: fake relationships, homecoming dances, being uncomfortable … or not… in your body, and more. I had such a fun time talking with Rebekah despite all the silly fangirling I did beforehand.

About the book:

A swoony, heart-melting YA romance from beloved author Rebekah Weatherspoon about two awkward teens who decide to practice dating in order to be good at the real thing. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han.

Sixteen-year-old Bethany Greene, though confident and self-assured, is what they call a late-bloomer. She’s never had a boyfriend, date, or first kiss. She’s determined to change that but after her crush turns her down cold for Homecoming–declaring her too inexperienced–and all her back-up ideas fall through, she cautiously agrees to go with her best friend’s boyfriend Jacob. A platonic date is better than no date, right? Until Saylor breaks up with said boyfriend.

Dumped twice in just two months, Jacob Yeun wonders if he’s the problem. After years hiding behind his camera and a shocking summer glow up, he wasn’t quite ready for all the attention or to be someone’s boyfriend. There are no guides for his particular circumstances, or for taking your ex’s best friend to the dance.

Why not make the best of an awkward situation? Bethany and Jacob decide to fake date for practice, building their confidence in matters of the heart.

And it works–guys are finally noticing Bethany. But things get complicated as their kissing sessions–for research of course!–start to feel real. This arrangement was supposed to help them in dating other people, but what if their perfect match is right in front of them?

Book cover of Her Good Side by Rebekah Weatherspoon with a young couple in the foreground and a white silhouette of a palm tree in the background. Tagline: Practice (dating) makes perfect!

Available May 30, 2023 at these online retailers:

About Rebekah Weatherspoon:

After years of meddling in her friends’ love lives, Rebekah Weatherspoon turned to writing romance to get her fix. Many award-winning novels later she still believes in love, the fluffier the better. Raised in southern New Hampshire, Rebekah now lives in southern California with her dog Lizzie. She will remain there forever because she hates moving. You can find Rebekah’s Twitter at @rdotspoon.

Website: www.rebekahweatherspoon.com

Rebekah Weatherspoon’s Social media:

Other Books, Stories, and authors mentioned

Authors:

Indiebound/Bookshop

*I am an affiliate of Bookshop.org. I will receive a small commission for any purchases made using the image or any Bookshop/Indiebound links above. This does not change the price you pay.

Available now on most podcast providers

TuneInApple PodcastsSpotifyGoogle PodcastsAmazon MusicStitcheriHeartRadioPodcast AddictPodchaserPocketCastsDeezerListen NotesPlayer.fmPodcast IndexCastroCastBoxPodfriend

Don’t have a podcast provider?

Listen to this episode here!

Did you like this episode?

Then help us keep this show running by supporting us. You can give a set amount per month or an individual amount. Nerdy Romantic Lead Members get access to premium episodes.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *